Pravni fakultet (Sveučilište u Splitu)
Pravni fakultet (Sveučilište u Splitu)

Faculty of Law
Domovinskog rata 8
21000 Split
+385 (21)
Telephone.: +385 21 39 35 00
Administration Fax: 39 35 97
Dean's Office: +385 21 39 35 02
Offices: +385 21 39 35 68
Library tel./fax: 39 35 75
OIB: 03541568700
IBAN: HR4324070001100578448


Faculty of Law in Split (hereinafter: Faculty) is a public higher education institution within the University of Split. The Faculty was established in 1960 as a Legal study - branch unit of the Faculty of Law in Zagreb. Foundation of the legal studies in Split was influenced by the needs of the growing economy and social services in Split and Dalmatia, including the wider gravitating area which encompassed a part of Lika, Herzegovina and Southwest Bosnia. It was a contribution to decentralisation and a more uniform development of Croatia in the former Yugoslavia, as well as affirmation of the city of Split as a cultural and educational centre. As early as in 1961, the Faculty was separated from the Faculty of Law in Zagreb and has been operating as an independent higher education institution under the name of the Faculty of Law in Split ever since. From 1965 to 1974, it belonged to the University of Zagreb, and since 1974 until today it has been a constituent of the University of Split.
Since the beginning, the education of legal professional has been the main task of the Faculty. During the first fifteen years, the four-year undergraduate study of law was the only study programme of the Faculty. At the beginning, the study model was implemented which aimed to direct the students towards particular specialisations at the senior year, and since 1966 the model of unique legal study for the vocation of the graduated lawyer has been permanently adopted. In 1976, a two-year professional study of administrative law was introduced, intended for the education of experts for public administration positions.

Since 1976, the Faculty has been carrying out the postgraduate studies. It is not surprising that the studies were selected which encompass the maritime orientation of Dalmatia and the Republic of Croatia. The first postgraduate study of "Maritime Economy", which yielded 24 specialist master's degrees, was realised in cooperation with the Faculty of Economics in Split. In 1978, a highly successful postgraduate study of "Law of the Sea" was established (renamed into "Maritime Law and the Law of the Sea" in 2001), where 115 candidates obtained the academic degree of the master of legal sciences. In 1979, the postgraduate study of "Self-Governing Law" was established, which was, as it was soon discovered, ephemeral. After the Faculty obtained a relevant licence at the end of the 1960s, it awarded more than 60 doctoral degrees in legal sciences.

In 1979, the Institute for Cooperation with Economy and Institutions (until 1991 the Institute for Self-Government and Cooperation with Associated Labour) with the aim to organise research activities, expert and expertise activities and connect them with practical work. The Institute performed significant work in terms of permanent (life-long) education of administration professionals, promotion of modern relations and principles, examination of commercial law, civil law and labour law aspects of relationships in the business sector and social services. In addition to the teaching staff of the Faculty, the Institute encompassed numerous experts from practice and it also cooperated, inter alia, with the Croatian Chamber of Commerce, union organisations and the namesake Institute of the Faculty of Law in Zagreb.

During the past 10 years the Faculty has attempted to meet the complex challenges dictated by the recent social and economic development, as well as new tendencies in the field of higher education and scientific activities. The Faculty was only partially successful in its tendencies, and the underlying reasons should undoubtedly be sought in its own organisational and functional shortcomings and the objectively set limitations. An example thereof is the ongoing economic recession which has been present in Croatia since 2008, and which has an unfavourable effect on the business operation and development of the Faculty in different direct or indirect ways.
The most significant change refers to the transformation of study programmes. The Faculty accepted the Bologna education system in 2005, and harmonised the structure of the graduate study of law and the professional study of administrative law accordingly. The graduate study of law is constituted as an integrated five-year undergraduate and graduate study (10 semesters), and upon graduation the student obtains at least 300 ECTS credits and the academic title of master of law (Lat. magistar iuris, abbreviated mag. iur.), with which the former title of graduated lawyer was legally equated.
Pridruži nam se na Faceu Prati pravsthr preko RSSa
  • 09.07. :
  • 04.07. :
  • 04.07. :